Jose

http://www.josepizarro.com/restaurants/jose/

Scores: GFG 3/ Z 28/ H 1

I had never been to Jose before but I know it is highly regarded and I have also had a good meal in its sister restaurant Pizarro before.  We arrived late at just after 10 on a Saturday night and ended up standing at the counter.  As soon as a stool freed up elsewhere it was brought over and offered to my girlfriend which was considerate.

We had quite a few items, most of them fairly classic tapas including patatas bravas as well as some slightly different stuff including a sea bream dish.

Bread and tomato

IMG_1662

Jamón Ibérico

IMG_1664

Croquetas

IMG_1661

Jerusalem artichoke with pork

IMG_1665

Overall there was some very good tapas on display here, for example the croquetas were cooked to perfection.  However, although this is definitely some of the best Spanish food in London I did not find it mind blowing.  If I was in the area I would go again but there are places that are closer to me that do tapas at or not far from this level.

Leave a Reply

